沖繩美食
沖繩風味

沖繩美食之旅

沖繩美食之旅:品嚐當地新鮮食材製作的佳餚

沖繩本島雖然小,卻非常豐富多元。北部的山原有著茂密的叢林,中部地區有許多大城市,南部則有許多別具歷史意義的景點,各地都有著值得您到訪並體驗的活動。如果各種東西都想看一點,宜野座村非常值得一訪。宜野座村約位在本島東岸的中間,很靠近北部的森林和各地的海岸,到中部和南部也非常近。

宜野座村屬於東部的濱海地區,面朝太平洋,比起沖繩本島西岸的步調稍慢一些。海岸線旁有些大型的度假勝地,沖繩多數的天然地景與海景都保留完整。宜野座村有許多名聞遐邇的特色,其中包括美麗的海灘和絕佳的釣魚地點,以及被紅樹林所環繞、適合划輕艇的河流。此外,也不要錯過在東岸欣賞絕美日出的好機會。

宜野座:推動沖繩飲食文化之地

農貿市場新鮮蔬果

宜野座村的地方政府有感於當地自然環境的特色與舒適的生活步調,因而致力於維護自然環境與工業發展的平衡,保障居民的健康福祉。2010年,宜野座更宣布成為「宜野座有機村」,致力推廣安全、健康的農產品,並提供「宜野座環境友善產品」商標給通過認證的農民和使用較少化學肥料的農業組織。

一直以來,農業都是宜野座的重要產業。若想了解宜野座出產的產品,不妨可到用餐和購物皆適宜的道之驛宜野座。您可以在此享用Ginoza Farm Lab 餐廳的美味漢堡,並欣賞一旁的絕佳海景。除此之外,農夫市集也是在道之驛宜野座值得一看的特色,十分適合買些當地特有的產品,以及附近農場栽種的新鮮蔬菜。看到這裡豐富精美的產品,就可以馬上了解到為何在沖繩有著Nuchigusui(食物即是良藥)一說。

宜野座道路休息站外觀

沖繩之所以成為世界聞名的長壽之地,與當地飲食有著緊密關聯。來到這裡,非常推薦嘗試當地料理,品嚐苦瓜和海葡萄等健康食物的美味。如今沖繩一些知名的長壽料理的風貌也正逐漸改變,因為沖繩多元的文化,自然會受到Champuru(大雜燴)的精神所影響,讓沖繩本土受歡迎的元素與從國外傳入的文化精髓互相融合。在這種現今十分普遍的大雜燴潮流之下,為迎合外界的口味,旅遊勝地的高檔餐廳和當地小農會攜手改良作物,而新型態的料理也就因此誕生。

宜野座HIRAMATSU HOTELS

主廚與農夫的最佳拍檔

沖繩新鮮蔬果

在宜野座平松飯店&度假村,可了解到「食物就是良藥」的大雜燴文化在最新風潮下的樣貌。在主廚木下喜信操刀下,飯店以多元的用餐選擇聞名,主打「為吃而住」。

先前在法國和東京學習與工作過的法國主廚木下到了沖繩後,私心有個願望,就是比起將自身所學套用在料理當中,他更想用當地食材做出專屬於沖繩風味的料理。無論是北部的山原、中部的Uruma市、南部的南風原和豐見城,沖繩都有著豐富又高品質的蔬菜食材可選擇,然而,如何使用島上這些獨特的食材也成為了木下主廚的一大挑戰。他不斷研發處理這些食材的新方式,也對自己創造出的創新味道感到很滿意。在規模較小的度假餐館時,他更抓住機會,冒險嘗試將傳統的沖繩食材融入法式料理,創造出一種既不完全屬於法式、也非沖繩道地的創新料理。

木下主廚的料理之旅並非毫無阻礙。早期料理法式餐點時,他必須使用沖繩本島的農產品,但食材的運送過程需要耗時2天,蔬菜的鮮度也會因此受到影響。因此,木下主廚決定攜手當地農民,引入法式和歐式料理中會使用到、但沖繩並無栽種的蔬菜。事實上,在較高檔的歐式餐飲進駐到沖繩前,即使種植特殊蔬菜也沒有通路銷售,所以過去沖繩的農產品選擇也較有限。

木下主廚慢慢展開他的料理之旅後,有次在當地的小農市集意外遇到了當地農場宮古島小金農園的主人Kinjo Osamu,從此木下主廚的命運大為轉變。Kinjo成為了木下主廚熱情的夥伴,願意與他一起嘗試,將沖繩新型的蔬菜種類推向新的料理領域。就這樣,他們兩人齊心協力,交流各種知識,像是蔬菜種類、種植技術、歐式料理使用的蔬菜食材、以及希望能做出的品質等。在這過程中,兩人彼此互動和學習,並開始達成了意外的目標,也正是如此,人們現在在當地才有機會買到許多特殊的蔬菜,包括紅心蘿蔔、橘色花椰菜,甚至在這些蔬菜收成當日就可以享用到。

Kinjo成為了種植新型作物的先驅。隨著他成功種出了新種類的蔬菜並賣得好價錢,其他農夫也隨之仿效,島上農業的面貌也因此逐漸轉變。木下主廚除了使用原本的歐洲食材,也在日常的菜餚融入許多島上蔬菜,像是韭菜、蕗蕎、琉球艾草(一種藥草)和紅鳳菜(波菜的一種)等。我們到訪的當天,開胃菜是使用宮古島小金農園的醃菜配上石垣島的香草,主菜則是烤今歸仁的阿古豬和山原蔬菜,再搭配上紅酒醬。既美觀又新鮮的蔬菜,配上沖繩風味濃厚的豬肉料理,大大滿足了我們的味蕾。這樣的一餐,充分展現出主廚與農夫攜手合作,為沖繩菜餚開闢新天地、創造獨特飲食體驗的成果。

木下主廚的菜肴

木下主廚也提到,日本有許多法式餐館,競爭非常激烈,但他仍希望使用最新鮮的食材,凸顯他「法餐與沖繩合璧」的努力成果,進而讓自己的餐館成為大眾的口袋名單。也恰好,宜野座平松飯店&度假村不只開放給飯店賓客,只要是想一嚐島上美食的精髓,都可以來這裡品嚐木下主廚的好手藝。想到這裡,就不禁讓我垂涎三尺。

發佈時間:2021/02/15
最後更新:2021/12/20
撰稿:Steve Jarvis
作者長年居住於日本各地,最近已移居至沖繩。

更多資訊

okinawa-gourmet-dishes
Flavors of Okinawa

A Gourmet Adventure in Okinawa

Taste unique dishes made from fresh, local ingredients with a culinary journey in Okinawa

While relatively small, the main island of Okinawa is home to a wealth of diversity. From the lush forests of Yanbaru in the north to the urbanized central areas and the historically significant south, there is much to do and see. It is well worth visiting the Ginoza Village area for those looking for somewhere with a bit of everything. Located halfway down the east coast of the island, it is close to the forested north, beaches in all directions, and within easy reach of the central and southern areas.

Facing out to the Pacific Ocean, this part of the eastern seaboard is a step down in pace from the west coast of the island. As there are few large resorts along the coastline, much of the natural Okinawan scenery and seascapes remain intact. Ginoza also boasts some lovely beaches, excellent fishing spots, and is home to a river surrounded by mangroves, perfect for kayaking. And not to forget, the east coast offers the opportunity to take in fantastic sunrises.

Ginoza is driving Okinawan food culture

farmers-market-fresh-produce

Well aware of its natural attributes and relaxed pace, Ginoza’s local government is committed to preserving the balance between nature and industry to ensure the health and well-being of its residents. In 2010, Ginoza declared itself the “Organic Village of Ginoza,” and committed to promoting safe and healthy agricultural products, recognizing farmers and agricultural organizations who grow crops with fewer chemical fertilizers with the “Ginoza Eco-Produce” logo.

Farming has long been an essential industry in Ginoza. To get a sense of what the area produces, visit the Ginoza Roadside Station, a dining and shopping facility in Ginoza. There you can enjoy a delicious burger from Ginoza Farm Lab, served with a side of excellent sea views. However, the real treat is the farmers’ market, especially if you are after a unique gift made from local products, or want to load up on the freshest of fresh vegetables harvested from nearby farms. Looking at the abundant produce packed with goodness makes it easy to understand why there is the expression nuchigusui in Okinawa, which translates roughly as “food is medicine.”

ginoza-roadside-station-exterior

The connection between food and Okinawa’s worldwide reputation as a place of longevity is strong. Visitors are highly recommended to experiment with the local cuisine, such as bitter melon, sea grapes, and so much more, to appreciate just how tasty healthy food can be. However, there are also changes underway within Okinawa’s famed long-life cuisine. As is the case with so much of Okinawa’s rich culture, it’s being driven by the spirit of champuru, meaning fusing the best of what can be imported from abroad with what is already successful in Okinawa. In typical champuru fusion fashion, a new type of cuisine is emerging between upmarket resort restaurants and local producers tweaking the kinds of crops they are growing to cater to outside tastes.

hiramatsu-hotel-resort-ginoza

A chef and a farmer make great partners

okinawan-fresh-produce

One of the prime locations for this latest iteration of nuchigusui champuru is taking place at Hiramatsu Hotels & Resorts Ginoza under the watchful eye of chef Kinoshita Yoshinobu. Hiramatsu is famous for its full range of dining options based on the concept of a “restaurant for staying.”

When Kinoshita, a French Chef who has trained and worked in some of the best kitchens in France and Tokyo, relocated to Okinawa, he held a secret desire. Rather than replicating standard dishes of his training, he wanted to use local ingredients to create dishes that uniquely suited Okinawa’s climate. Whether from Yanbaru in the north, Uruma City in the center, or Haebaru and Tomigusuku in the south, the island is rich in options for great quality vegetables. Making use of these unique island vegetables is an irresistible challenge for Kinoshita. He is continually working on new ways to prepare them, and delights in the fresh flavors he can create. Taking advantage of the small scale of the resort restaurant, he has embarked on a culinary adventure to adapt traditional Okinawan ingredients to French cuisine to create an entirely new food genre that is neither strictly French nor Okinawan.

Chef Kinoshita’s gastronomic journey has not been without hurdles. In the early stages, he had to use produce imported from the mainland to create the standard dishes for French cuisine. That would usually take two days, and the freshness of the vegetables would suffer accordingly. That led Kinoshita to foster relations with local farmers to introduce vegetables used in French and European cuisine that weren’t grown in Okinawa. The reasons behind limited varieties of produce were understandable as, prior to high-end European dining coming to the island, there was no market for such specialty vegetables.

After a slow start, Kinoshita’s fortunes dramatically changed when he had a chance encounter in a local farmers’ market with Kinjo Osamu, the owner of Kinchan Nouen, a farm in the area. In Kinjo, chef Kinoshita has found an enthusiastic partner willing to experiment and push the boundaries of what new vegetables can be grown on the island. They work together, exchanging knowledge about varieties and farming methods and the type of vegetables used in European cuisine, and the quality expected. It is an iterative learning process and one that is starting to achieve impressive results. Now it is possible to buy such exotic vegetables as watermelon radish and orange cauliflower, and have them harvested on the day they appear on your plate.

Kinjo has become a pioneer of new crops. As he has succeeded in growing new varieties and selling them at a premium, other farmers have followed suit, gradually changing the face of agriculture on the island. In addition to the European ingredients he traditionally uses, chef Kinoshita incorporates many island vegetables such as flowering chives, Chinese onion, fuuchiba (an herb), and handama (a type of spinach) in his daily menus. When we visited, the appetizer of the day was marinated island vegetables from Kinchan Nouen with Ishigaki vanilla, and the main course was roasted Nakijin agu pork and Yanbaru vegetables with red wine sauce. Our taste buds were delighted by the beautiful, snap-fresh vegetables and the richly-flavored prefectural pork dishes. The meal was a great example of how chefs and farmers work together to break new ground in Okinawan cuisine and create unique food experiences.

dishes-by-chef-kinoshita

Chef Kinoshita points out there are so many French restaurants in Japan. It’s a very competitive market, but he hopes that using the freshest ingredients to elevate his efforts at “fusion French food with an Okinawan twist” will put his restaurant on the gourmet map. Luckily, the restaurant at Hiramatsu Hotels & Resorts Ginoza is open not just to guests. Anyone with the desire to taste some of the best food on the island can have the chance to taste Kinoshita’s creations. I am already salivating just thinking about it.

Posted on 2021/2/15
Last updated 2021/12/20
Text by Steve Jarvis
Steve Jarvis is a long-term resident of Japan who has recently relocated to the Okinawa Prefecture.

Learn More

?>