okinawa-history
世界遺產與傳統文化

探索沖繩歷史

沖繩如何從古老的王國成為現代的和平燈塔

在1879年成為沖繩縣之前的450年間,沖繩是一個被稱為琉球王國的獨立國家。琉球王國與中國、日本以及其他東亞和東南亞國家的貿易交流頻繁,維持了長時間的繁榮昌盛。琉球王國與其貿易夥伴建立友好關係,並孕育了各種獨特文化。

沖繩經歷了動盪的歷史,包含第二次世界大戰時期毀滅性的破壞和美國的統治時期,所以更加重視歷史教訓的重要性及和平的無價。沖繩人培養出了堅韌而靈活的精神,他們認為「適應各種狀況,和平生活最優先。」深入了解沖繩的歷史可以讓您更加了解和平友睦的重要性。

了解沖繩從史前文明到現代的歷史

okinawa-museum-display

從沖繩單軌電車(或稱Yui Rail)的Omoromachi站下車步行幾分鐘,就可到達「沖繩縣立博物館・美術館」。此設施的外觀以沖繩的古城為設計靈感,您可在此一覽沖繩的自然、歷史、文化和藝術,此外全年還會舉辦季節主題或特殊主題展覽。

常設展概述了沖繩的歷史和文化,從史前時代到琉球王國的興衰,以及沖繩縣在美國統治下的歲月等近代歷史。

琉球王國是一個存續了約450年的繁盛國家,領土包含沖繩列島。琉球王國就像是海上的橋梁,它的船隻停泊在亞洲各國的港口,「萬國津梁(世界的橋梁)」的理念也是沖繩建立其文化和歷史的基礎。博物館內也展示了象徵了沖繩和平友睦理念的「萬國津梁之鐘」,每隔30分鐘,您會聽到一次鐘聲。此鐘從15世紀保存至今,幸運地躲過了在沖繩島戰役(1945年)時軍方對鐵製品的迫切需求。

如果您想要深入了解沖繩的歷史,那就必須細看第二次世界大戰的歷史。參觀完博物館後,您可以前往與這段歷史相關的遺址。沖繩本島南部有許多第二次世界大戰的戰場遺址、紀念碑和曾做為防空洞的洞穴,這些遺址是沖繩歷史上最艱困的時期,也是沖繩人期望和平的見證。

在和平祈念公園深入了解戰爭歷史

okinawa-peace-memorial-park

第二次世界大戰的1945年3月26日到6月23日,沖繩成為了一處激烈的戰場,後世稱之為「鐵之風暴」,這場戰役造成了超過24萬人喪生,其中包含了許多平民。為了銘記此事,沖繩建立了一處紀念設施以提醒前來參觀的遊客戰爭的悲劇、爭取和平,並培養對人間的大愛。來到可以看見美麗海景的沖繩和平祈念公園,您可以在此緬懷不分國籍、無論軍民,所有在戰爭中逝去的靈魂。

沖繩和平祈念公園位於糸滿市,從那霸市往南開車約30分鐘車程。此處為沖繩島戰役的最後戰場,公園內的沖繩縣和平祈念博物館內展示了沖繩島戰役(1945年)的照片和文物。您可以在沖繩和平祈念堂禱告和反思,和平之礎石碑上雕刻了所有戰爭中犧牲者的名字。此外,在摩文仁之丘的靈域參道和戰歿者墓苑則是有著50座紀念戰爭中遇難者的紀念碑。

eternal-flame-of-peace

和平之礎廣場中間有一個水池,水池中間燃燒著「和平之火」。火種取自阿嘉島和座間味群島,也是美軍在沖繩島戰役中最早登陸的地方。火源同時也結合了廣島市的「和平之燈」和長崎市的「誓約之火」, 此不滅之火鼓勵每個人在心中保持和平之火,永不熄滅!

致力於推廣和平理念的場所

從沖繩和平祈念公園開車約10分鐘,就可到達姬百合之塔和姬百合和平祈念資料館。這裡是紀念著在沖繩戰時期,被要求參與醫療組的15歲至19歲的222名女學生和18名教師組成的「姫百合學生隊」。您可以在此閱讀當時學生的回憶,部分內容也提供英文版本,有些訪客在閱讀了這些傳達和平重要性的文字之後,甚至忍不住紅了眼眶。

former-navy-underground-headquarters

另一處值得造訪的地點是豐見城市的舊海軍司令部壕。您可以參觀掩體並穿過隧道,想像戰爭時的狀況。在戰爭的最後階段,日本海軍的士兵們挖掘了450公尺長的隧道和房間用於作戰,其中的300公尺開放參觀。在戰爭即將結束時,有約4000名士兵和指揮官們在此掩體中喪生,許多人在最後自殺。司令部的牆壁和天花板上還殘留著士兵們用手榴彈自殺時飛散的碎片所造成的痕跡,無聲敘述著戰爭的殘忍。

若您走訪沖繩的歷史遺跡,一定可在各處發現「和平」的重要性。在經歷過毀滅性的戰爭之後,沖繩人深切地期望和平,希望沖繩能以「萬國津梁」之姿成為世界的「和平之橋」,這樣的理念也深深地打動了來訪沖繩的遊客。

更多資訊

相關關鍵字

okinawa history
               
Heritage & Tradition

Discover the History of Okinawa

How Okinawa developed from an ancient kingdom to a modern beacon of peace

For 450 years, before becoming Okinawa Prefecture in 1879, Okinawa was an independent nation called the Ryukyu Kingdom. The Ryukyu Kingdom flourished as a base for maritime trade with China, the neighboring islands of Japan, and other countries throughout East Asia and Southeast Asia. The Ryukyu Kingdom built harmonious relationships with its trading partners and fostered a culture of diversity.

With a tumultuous history that includes devastation during WWII and American rule, Okinawa is focused on the importance of learning from history, and the value of peace. The people of Okinawa have developed a sense of resilience and flexibility, informed by their history. You might hear comments like, “You must adapt regardless of the situation, as there is nothing more important than to live in peace.” Learning more about the history of Okinawa can give visitors a greater appreciation for the importance of nurturing peace and harmony.

Learn the history of Okinawa, from prehistoric civilization to the present day

okinawa museum display

The Okinawa Prefectural Museum and Art Museum is a 10-minute walk from Omoromachi Station on the Okinawa Urban Monorail, or Yui Rail. The facility is designed in the shape of a traditional Okinawan castle (gusuku) and features an overview of Okinawa’s nature, history, culture, and art, all in one place. Special seasonal and themed exhibitions are held throughout the year.

The permanent exhibition outlines Okinawa’s history and culture, from the prehistoric age, through the growth and decline of the Ryukyu Kingdom, to the modern era, including Okinawa’s years under American rule.

The Ryukyu Kingdom, which existed for approximately 450 years, flourished as a nation, encompassing the islands of Okinawa. The kingdom was like a bridge across the ocean, with its ships calling at ports all over Asia. The philosophy of bankoku shinryo or “a bridge between all nations,” is the foundation on which Okinawa has built its culture and experienced history. The museum also displays the “Bridge of Nations Bell,” which symbolizes the Okinawan philosophy of peace and harmony. You can hear the bell sound every 30 minutes. The bell has survived since the 15th century, despite wartime pressure to contribute its iron to the military efforts during the Battle of Okinawa (1945).

When learning about the history of Okinawa, it is inevitable to look at WWII. After a visit to the museum, people may like to visit some of the sites associated with this period of history. The southern part of the main island has many WWII battle sites, prayer monuments, and caves which were used as air-raid shelters. They stand as vestiges of the hardest time in Okinawa’s history, and of its people’s wishes for peace.

Learning about war and peace at Okinawa Peace Memorial Park

okinawa peace memorial park

During WWII from March 26 to June 23, 1945, Okinawa became a fierce battlefield. The battle is often referred to as the “Typhoon of Steel,” in which more than 240,000 people died, many civilians. In response, Okinawa built a place of remembrance, reminding visitors of the tragedies of war, to strive for peace, and foster a love for humanity. At Okinawa Peace Memorial Park, with a view of the sea, the souls of all who perished are remembered, including civilians, regardless of their nationality or military affiliation.

The Okinawa Peace Memorial Park is in Itoman City, about 30 minutes south of Naha by car. The area was the final battlefield in Okinawa. The Okinawa Prefectural Peace Memorial Museum at the park displays photographs and relics from the Battle of Okinawa (1945). The Okinawa Peace Hall is a place for prayer and reflection. The Cornerstones of Peace record the names of those who died in the battle. On the Sacred Grounds Zone overlooking Mabuni Hill, there are 50 memorials for those lost in the conflict.

eternal flame of peace

The Cornerstones of Peace surround a water feature with the Flame of Peace burning at its center. The flame is lit from fires on Aka and Zamami islands, the first U.S. military landing sites in the Battle of Okinawa. It is also lit from the Peace Light of Hiroshima City, and the Fire of Oath in Nagasaki City. The eternal flame serves as inspiration for everyone to keep a fire of peace in their hearts, with the hope of everlasting peace.

Places dedicated to peace

himeyuri peace museum exterior
himeyuri peace museum interior

The Himeyuri Cenotaph and Himeyuri Peace Museum are about a 10-minute drive from Okinawa Peace Memorial Park. The facility is dedicated to the 222 female students aged between 15 and 19, who, along with their 18 teachers, were known as the Himeyuri or “Lily Corp.” They were mobilized as nurses during the Battle of Okinawa (1945). Visitors can read the recollections of the students during that time. Some accounts have even been translated into English. Visitors sometimes find themselves in tears, affected by the powerful messages of peace.

former navy underground headquarters

Another place worthy of a visit is the Former Japanese Navy Underground Headquarters in Tomigusuku. You can get a sense of wartime conditions by visiting the bunker and walking through the tunnels. During the closing stages of the war, sailors from the Japanese Navy hand-dug 450 meters of tunnels and rooms for operations. About 300 meters of the tunnel network is open to the public. During the closing stages of the battle, about 4,000 Japanese soldiers and their commanding officers perished in the bunker, many taking their own lives at the very end. The walls and ceiling of the commander’s office still bear the scars from fragments of grenades that the soldiers used to end their lives. It is a somber reminder of the brutality of war.

When you learn the history of Okinawa, the topic of peace appears time and time again. Visitors can learn that the people of Okinawa have a strong wish for peace, after experiencing a devastating period of war. The message of bankoku shinryo, encapsulating the desire for Okinawa to be a “Bridge of Peace” to the world, is inspiring.

Learn More