traditional-okinawan-experiences
體驗活動

沖繩10項必試傳統活動

深度了解沖繩文化——體驗最具代表性的傳統活動

沖繩文化十分多元,或許會讓您難以決定從何探索。推薦您瀏覽以下10項沖繩必試活動,了解可以親手嘗試的沖繩傳統。

體驗傳統沖繩服飾

ryuso-okinawan-clothing

沖繩的傳統服裝稱作「琉裝」(Ryuso;沖繩語為Uchina-Sugai)。琉球王國時期,服裝的顏色、圖騰、布料都可作為社會地位的象徵,就連髮型和髮簪也會因地位而有所不同。沖繩位處亞熱帶氣候,因此穿衣風格與日本本島有所差異。沖繩和服的腰帶較細,不像常見和服的腰帶那麼寬,且琉裝袖口寬鬆,身體與衣物之間較通風,穿起來較涼爽。琉裝通常是由稱作「紅型」的亮色織物所做成,傳統上是專為琉球王室所打造。穿著沖繩的傳統服飾在小鎮散步,絕對能為您留下難忘的回憶。

Veni琉裝

彩繪沖繩招福獅

shisa-painting-experience

沖繩招福獅為許多屋頂、家門的裝飾,若說是沖繩的象徵也不為過。沖繩招福獅是神話動物,有時又稱作「守護獅」,據說可避邪消災。沖繩招福獅約在13、14世紀時從中國引入琉球。現在,除了當作屋頂、大門的裝飾,也會放在一些村子的入口或山坡上,目的是保護村民或鎮民。來到沖繩,也可以到傳統陶器工房試做沖繩招福獅。需要注意的是,招福獅畢竟是沖繩的傳統手藝,會需要較長時間風乾、燒造。因此,只想稍微坐下來體驗一下的話,推薦體驗沖繩招福獅的成品彩繪。將親手製作的紀念品帶回家,一定能讓您留下最難忘的回憶。

琉球村

三線體驗

sanshin-lesson

「三線」的歷史可追溯至大約600年前,是深植於琉球群島歷史與文化的傳統樂器。17世紀早期,琉球王國將三線正式訂定為宮廷樂器,會在待客時或其它場合彈奏。最初只有武士階級可彈奏三線,直到1879年,這樣的規定才隨社會制度改革而有所轉變,讓一般大眾也可彈奏三線。最終,三線成為了村子祭典、表演時廣為使用的樂器。如今,三線在許多音樂類型都會使用到,包括琉球的古典音樂、歌劇、民謠、民俗表演、流行音樂等。在聯合國教科文組織非物質文化遺產名錄裡登錄的「組舞」表演中,三線也有著重要地位。來到這裡,不妨也抓住機會,親手體驗沖繩文化與歷史中這重要的一部分。

海洋博公園沖繩鄉土村

沖繩手舞體驗

kachashi-folk-dance

跳沖繩手舞(Kachashi)時,把雙手高舉過頭、搖擺身體!沖繩手舞是沖繩最有名的民俗舞蹈之一,沖繩人在各種場合都會跳,例如婚禮或聚會散場時。準確來說,舞蹈本身叫作「Attchamei」,搭配的音樂才是「Kachashi」,而手舞Kachashi的原意其實是「攪動」的意思。沖繩手舞非常簡單,雙手高舉過頭,女生拳頭張開,男生握拳,然後一起揮舞手臂,在空中攪動。在沖繩,許多傳統活動與地點都可以享受沖繩手舞,像是在祭典、主題公園、居酒屋等。還可以藉跳舞結交新朋友!

TUBARAMA 島歌&在地料理

享用琉球佳餚

ryukyu-cuisine

早期,琉球王國與中國、朝鮮、日本,和部分東南亞國家有外交關係,因此料理也和這些國家有深厚淵源。中國對琉球的影響尤其顯著,也因此沖繩料理後來發展出許多豬肉料理。琉球料理大致可區分兩類:王室料理和平民料理。許多貧窮人家生活困苦,必須妥善利用手邊食材的營養,因此利用智慧做出許多現在常見的料理。此外,沖繩其實還是世界上的「藍色地帶」之一,有許多百歲以上的人瑞居住於此,而飲食正是沖繩人長壽的秘密。在沖繩,人們認為「醫食同源」、「食物就是良藥」,也就是說食物就像「藥」或「生命之藥」一樣。來到這裡,不妨也多多嘗試各種生命之藥。

月桃庵

琉球紅型染

ryukyu-bingata-dyeing

「紅型」據傳起源於14至15世紀,泛指沖繩的各種染色技術,沖繩島嶼的豐富天然氣候孕育了這些技術,並經過人們運用獨門技巧改良,逐漸發展成熟。琉球王國時期,琉球的外貿發達,當時的貿易商品包括印度花布、爪哇花布,以及中式圖紙製成的花布。在當時,琉球王室對紅型染的織物相當保護,只有典禮儀式、琉球王室、武士和女性才能使用。技術高超的畫家和雕刻家,還會彼此分享草圖和圖騰,創作出更好的深色紅型染物。這些染物製成的服裝,正是給王室和貴族女性穿的,既鮮豔,又有紅色圖案。這些服裝顏色鮮明、圖案醒目、外型簡單,是紅型染的獨特魅力所在,時至今日依然許多人喜歡。來到這裡,不妨也試試這個沖繩歷史悠久的傳統,搭配出你自己的風格。

那霸市傳統工藝館 (僅提供日文介紹)

製作傳統讀谷山花織

yuntanza-hanaui-textiles

「讀谷山花織」是種獨特的織品,使用的染製與紡織技術是來自琉球王國時期的各東南亞國家和中國。然而,隨著時間的流逝,讀谷山花織的知識與技術已逐漸式微,沖繩島戰役(1945)後更幾乎被完全遺忘。直到1964年,讀谷村中一群熱情的女性一起復興了讀谷山花織的染製與紡織技術,才讓銷聲匿跡近90年的讀谷山花織成功復甦。如今,沖繩縣已將讀谷山花織定為「無形文化財」,日本經濟產業省也將其定為「傳統工藝品」。來到沖繩,不妨也體驗看看具有600年歷史的讀谷山花織。

讀谷山花織

探索沖繩絲綢——久米島的「紬」

okinawan-silk-kumejima-tsumugi

「紬織」是由較強韌的蠶絲線「紬線」編織而成。紬的色調深,沒有一般絲綢的亮澤,但非常受歡迎,是氣質相當優雅的布料。多數人認為久米島是紬的發源地,在當地的歷史可追溯到14世紀末。根據古老的手抄文獻,先前有中國船員漂流到久米島,向當地島民推薦到中國學習養蠶,島民回到島上後,才開始生產紬這種布料,之後再由日本工匠將紬的紡織技術發揚光大。來到沖繩,您可以體驗製作紬織杯墊,並將成品帶回家。

久米島紬的故里 Yuimaru館 (僅提供日文介紹)

用珊瑚染色染出天然圖案

coral-dyeing-experience

如先前提到的,「紅型」是種可追溯到琉球王國時期的傳統染色技術。位在那霸市首里的店舖「首里琉染」以珊瑚染色為名,而珊瑚染色,正是從紅型這種傳統工藝獨立演變而成。首里琉染創立於1973年,第一間開設的染坊與工坊就位在沖繩。首里琉染的初衷為「復興紅染、發展與推廣染色工藝」。首里琉染是唯一可體驗珊瑚染色的地方,來到這裡,可以用稱作拓包的器具沾上不同染劑,然後用不同大小的珊瑚化石模具搭配染布,自己排列各種圖案,完成自己獨創的設計。

首里琉染

DIY紫薯塔

beni-imo-tarts

紫薯是番薯的一種,也是沖繩的傳統食材。這種紫色的番薯富含花青素和多酚等非常好的抗氧化劑,也富含膳食纖維與礦物質,十分有益身體健康。在過去,紫薯泥(一種搗過的番薯甜點)曾是種主食,但現今以蒸和炸居多。沖繩最熱門的伴手禮之一就是獨創的番薯甜點,來到這裡也可親手試做。

御菓子御殿

traditional okinawan experiences
               
Activities & Experiences

10 Must-Try Traditional Okinawan Experiences

Take a deep dive into Okinawan culture with these quintessential traditional experiences

With such a breadth of cultural diversity, it can be hard to know where to start exploring in Okinawa. Browse the following 10 must-try activities for an introduction to getting hands-on with Okinawa’s traditions.

Try on traditional Okinawan clothing

ryuso okinawan clothing

Traditional Okinawan attire is called ryuso, or uchina-asugai in Okinawan. During the Ryukyu Kingdom era, the color, pattern, and fabric of clothes marked the social status of the wearer. Hairstyles and hairpins also varied according to status. Because of the subtropical climate, Okinawans did not adopt the same clothing styles as mainland Japan. They used a thin waistband instead of a wide sash often used with a typical kimono. The cuffs are loose and the gap between the body and the garment is well ventilated, making the clothing cool to wear. The material is usually a brightly colored textile called bingata, traditionally reserved for Ryukyu royalty. A stroll around town in traditional dress is sure to make long lasting memories.

Veni

Paint one of Okinawa’s legendary guardians

shisa painting experience

It is no exaggeration to say that shisa, which adorn rooftops and house gates everywhere, is the symbol of Okinawa. shisa are legendary creatures sometimes referred to as “guardian lions,” and are said to drive away demons and bad luck. shisa were introduced to Okinawa from China sometime between the 13th and 14th centuries. In addition to being on roofs or by gates, some shisa are placed at village entrances or on hills to protect the whole village or town. You can try your hand at making shisa at a traditional yachimun pottery studio. Be aware though that while making shisa is one of Okinawa’s traditional crafts, the clay takes time to dry and bake, so we recommend painting a ready-made shisa that can be done easily in one sitting. There is nothing like a handmade souvenir that you can take home with you.

Ryukyu Mura

Learn to play the sanshin

sanshin lesson

With a history believed to date back about 600 years, the sanshin is a traditional instrument ingrained in the history and culture of the Ryukyu Islands. In the early 17th century, the Ryukyu Kingdom officially adopted the sanshin as a court instrument, used to convey hospitality and at other events. Originally the sanshin could only be played by people of the samurai class, but that changed with social reform in 1879, and the instrument became available to the general public. Eventually, it became widely used in village festivals and performances. Currently, the sanshin is played in a wide variety of music genres, including classical Ryukyu music, Ryukyu opera, folk songs, performing folk arts, and pop music. It has an essential role in the performance of Kumiodori, a registered performing art on the UNESCO Intangible Cultural Heritage of Humanity list. Take this opportunity to get hands-on with an essential part of Okinawan culture and history.

Native Okinawan Village in Ocean Expo Park

Dance kachashi

kachashi folk dance

When dancing Kachashi, raise your hands above your head and swing left and right. One of the most popular folk dances in Okinawa, Okinawans break into Kachashi on various occasions, such as wedding celebrations and the end of parties. To be precise, the dancing is called attchamae, and the music that plays at that time is Kachashi. The name of the dance is derived from the word meaning “to stir,” and it is very easy to dance. With both hands above the head, the woman keeps her hand open, and the man just folds his fists, and then they move side-to-side waving their arms as though to stir the sky. Within the prefecture, you can enjoy Kachashi in traditional events and places like festivals, theme parks, and izakaya. The dance is a great way to make new friends.

Tuva Rama *only in Japanese

Feast on Ryukyu cuisine

ryukyu cuisine

The diplomatic ties to China, Korea, Japan, and parts of Southeast Asia greatly influenced cuisine in the Ryukyu Kingdom. China had a particularly strong influence, and Okinawan cuisine developed with a heavy focus on pork. Ryukyu cuisine can be divided into two broad categories; the food enjoyed by the court, and food enjoyed by common people. Much of the common cuisine was created by wisdom born from poverty, using every part of nutritious ingredients that could be found in abundance. In fact, Okinawa is one of the world’s Blue Zones, an area with many centenarians, and it is thought that the diet contributes to this longevity. In Okinawan, food is referred to as kusuimun and nuchigusui, meaning something like “medicine” or “medicine for life.” Treat yourself to some of life’s medicine, and sample as much as you can.

Gettou-An

Try Ryukyu bingata dyeing

ryukyu bingata dyeing

Believed to originate between the 14th and 15th centuries, bingata is a collective term for Okinawan dyeing that emerged in the rich natural climate of the islands, and has been nurtured through unique techniques. During the Ryukyu Kingdom era, when trade with foreign countries flourished, trading goods included Indian calicos, Java calicos, and flower cloths made of Chinese pattern paper. Under the protection of the Ryukyu Royal Government, bingata textiles were used for ceremonial costumes and dresses of the Ryukyu royalty, warriors, and women. Skilled painters and engravers shared sketches and patterns to further enhance the crimson bingata patterns. Royal and noble women often wore the resulting brilliant red-patterned costumes. The vivid colors, bold patterns, and the simplicity of the shapes are part of bingata’s distinctive charm, and many people still love these dyes. Merge your own style with this enduring Okinawan tradition.

Naha City Traditional Arts & Craft Center *only in Japanese

Create traditional yuntanza hanaui textiles

yuntanza hanaui textiles

Yuntanza hanaui is a distinctive textile based on the dyeing and weaving techniques adopted from various southeast Asian countries and China during the Ryukyu Kingdom era. However, all knowledge and techniques of making the Yuntanza hanaui gradually faded over time, and were all but forgotten after the Battle of Okinawa (1945). In 1964, a group of passionate women in Yomitan Village working together succeeded in reviving its dyeing and weaving techniques that had been dormant for almost 90 years. It is now certified as Intangible Cultural Property by Okinawa Prefecture, and a Traditional Handicraft by the Ministry of Economy, Trade, and Industry. Experience 600 years of history with Hanaui weaving.

Yuntanza Hanaui

Explore Okinawan silk with Kumejima tsumugi

okinawan silk kumejima tsumugi

tsumugi is a contraction of tsumugi-ori, a strong silk fabric. It is a popular and stylish cloth with a dark and deep hue devoid of typical silky luster. Kume Island is said to be the birthplace of tsumugi with a history dating back to the end of the 14th century. According to old scripts, seafarers from China drifted to Kume Island, prompting islanders to go to China and learn sericulture, eventually returning to start tsumugi production. Later, artisans from Japan made great strides in developing the technology further. Make your own tsumugi coaster to take back home with you.

Kumejima Tsumugi no Sato Yuimaru-kan *only in Japanese

Create natural patterns with coral dyeing

coral dyeing experience

As mentioned before, bingata is a traditional dyeing technique that dates back to the Ryukyu Kingdom era. Shuri Ryusen, a business located in Shuri, in Naha City, is well known for their use of coral dyeing, which evolved independently from the traditional techniques of bingata. Founded in 1973, Ryusen opened the first dyeing plant and laboratory in Okinawa. Its aim is the “revival of bingata and development and transmission of dyeing technologies.” It is also the only place where you can experience coral dyeing. You can combine designs from coral fossils of various sizes and dye clothes using a tool called a tampo with various dyeing liquids, arranging coral patterns to create completely original designs.

Shuri Ryusen

DIY beni-imo tarts

beni imo tarts

Beni-imo is a sweet potato, a traditional Okinawan ingredient. This purple potato is a healthy ingredient that contains anthocyanins and polyphenols, which are said to be excellent antioxidants. It is also rich in dietary fiber and minerals. In the past, umuni (mashed sweet potato confections) was a staple food, but nowadays they are usually eaten steamed or deep-fried. One of the most popular Okinawa souvenirs is the original sweet potato confectionery, and here, you can try to make your own.

Okashigoten

   
<