bingata dyed fabric
沖繩日常

展現沖繩之美「織品魅力」

沖繩傳統紡織品中所蘊含的獨特世界觀是如何產生的?

柳宗悅是沖繩民間藝術的研究者,對於沖繩傳統文化有著深厚的見解,他說:「無論在日本何處,很少有地區能比得上沖繩紡織品的獨特和多樣性。水果不僅可作為織線用於纖物,更可作為染料。」芭蕉布即是一種源自於沖繩的美麗紡織品。

bingata dyed fabric

這塊飄揚在風中,彷彿融入大海背景的紅色織物是人間國寶玉那霸有公的繼承者——玉那霸有勝先生的作品。此和服作品名為《玫瑰藤紋》,採用傳統染色技術「紅型」,並於西武傳統工藝展上展出。

世界上最美麗的紡織品的故事

喜如嘉芭蕉布

basho-fu-thread

喜如嘉芭蕉布的絲線,左起:芭蕉纖維柔和天然的顏色、以福木染成的黃色、以石斑木染成的褐色。

芭蕉葉隨風搖曳,有著紅瓦屋頂的木造民宅......這樣傳統的琉球風景,在沖繩本島北部大宜味村的喜如家聚落隨處可見,這裡也是芭蕉布的生產地。

芭蕉布從製作絲線到織布有20多個步驟,首先必須種植芭蕉以取得製作絲線的原材料——芭蕉纖維。芭蕉布是日本唯一仍然以手工製作的紡織品,從種植芭蕉到染色,所有步驟都不使用化學添加物。

basho-fu-thread-2

絲線是由纖維捻成,只有專業的職人才能將纖維捻成粗細均等的絲線。

平良美惠子女士說,「芭蕉布輕盈涼爽的觸感,就像穿上了一帖良藥,可以放心穿著。」來自喜如嘉的平良敏子女士是戰後日本芭蕉布復興的關鍵,戰爭時,她以志願隊的身分前往倉敷,參觀了大原紡織廠。她在這裡結識了熱衷於民俗藝術活動的外村吉之介,並學習紡織技術。這段經歷讓她懷抱著保護並促進沖繩紡織業的發展的願望回到了沖繩。

basho-fu-obi

由芭蕉布製成帶有花卉圖案的腰帶,經典花紋以簡約的設計帶來了現代感。

不幸的是,為了取得芭蕉布的主要材料-芭蕉纖維所種植的芭蕉田,因為會招來蚊子而遭到砍伐。在艱困的環境中,喜如嘉的女性們仍持續生產芭蕉纖維,掌握製做芭蕉布必需的技術,以及復興芭蕉布的藝術。1974年,「喜如嘉的芭蕉布保存會」被認定為國家指定重要無形文化財,平良敏子女士也被認定為人間國寶。透過使用植物染料及參考琉球王國時代的設計和染色方法,也為芭蕉布開創了新的可能性。

silken-threads

頂級絲線,美麗的天然光澤。

「種植芭蕉是最辛苦,同時也最重要的工作。」平良敏子的長子之妻,同時也是敏子繼承者的平良美惠子如是說。

banana-fields

在良好管理下的750坪(略少於2500平方公尺)芭蕉園,需要約3年才能長成可用的芭蕉纖維。

芭蕉每年須修剪葉子3或4次,以幫助軟化纖維,並修剪枝幹,以確保其以相同的厚度生長。使用芭蕉布所織成的一件和服約需要200株芭蕉的纖維。在佔地2500坪(超過8000平方公尺)的芭蕉園中,除草和修剪葉子與枝幹等管理作業對於生產品質良好的絲線不可或缺,芭蕉成熟後整個秋季與冬季都會進行採收。據說從主幹側面切口長出的新芽十分珍貴,芭蕉纖維需要2至3年才能收成。

banana-plants

在秋季與冬季所採收的成熟芭蕉,將會先剝去外皮,然後紮成一綑,並用木炭煮熟,如此可以去除雜質並變成細纖維,然後透過手捻或刮削等步驟將其製成絲線,用天然植物進行染色後,即可編織成芭蕉布。由於芭蕉從中間生長,中間的纖維製成的絲線較為柔軟纖細,因此製成的絲線由外至內也可分為四種:用於裝飾品、腰帶、和服和染色用。

national-treasure-toshiko-taira

在平良敏子女士戰後持續不斷的努力下,芭蕉布的藝術得以完整地保存至今。雖然超過90歲的女士們已不再使用織布機,但她們仍然指導著在芭蕉布會館工作的女性們以及準備絲線。正如平良女士所希望的,芭蕉布的技術將傳承給下一代,並持續編織著美麗的故事。

芭蕉布會館

basho-fu-thread-2

芭蕉布會館是為了技術傳承所建,但遊客也可參觀製作過程及購買小型作品。

住址: 沖繩縣國頭郡大宜味村喜如嘉454
電話:0980-44-3033

攝影: 森川昇
取材/撰文:新居典子
編輯: 高木史郎、木村優、小竹智子、久保志帆子
最後更新:2021/12/20

INTOJAPAN是什麼?
INTOJAPAN是由小學館「Waraku Magazine」編輯部所創辦的網路雜誌。此刊物提供了日本文化的資訊,藉此傳達真正的日本魅力。

bingata dyed fabric
Okinawa Life

Presenting the Power of Okinawa “Power of Textiles”

How did the unique view of the world shown in traditional Okinawan textiles come about?

Muneyoshi Yanagi, a researcher of folk arts with a deep understanding of Okinawa’s traditional culture, said “Wherever you go in Japan, there are few regions that can match the exceptional and diverse fabrics found in Okinawa. Fruit is not only used for the fabrics but also the dyes.” Basho-fu is a beautiful type of cloth that originates from Okinawa.

bingata dyed fabric

This red cloth that floats in the wind as if melting into the ocean is the work of Yusho Tamanaha, successor of Living National Treasure, Yuko Tamanaha. Dyed using traditional techniques known as “bingata”, this kimono cloth titled “Rose Vine Pattern” was exhibited at the Seibu Traditional Craft Exhibition.

The Story of the World’s Most Beautiful Fabric

Kijoka basho-fu

basho-fu-thread

Kijoka basho-fu thread. From the left: the soft natural color of basho (banana fibers), died yellow with sap tree, and died brown with silverberry.

Leaves of banana plants swaying in the wind, red-tiled roofs of wooden houses… This Ryukyuan scenery can be found all throughout Ogimi-son Kijoka, a small coastal village in the northern part of Okinawa’s main island where basho-fu, or Basho cloth, is produced.

There are over 20 different steps from making the thread to weaving the cloth, starting with the cultivation of banana fibers (basho) which are the raw materials used to make the thread. Basho-fu is the only fabric in Japan that continues to be made by hand, and no chemicals are used at any stage of the process, from the banana fields to the dyes.

basho-fu-thread-2

The thread is made by twisting the fibers, and only the arm of a craftsman can see whether or not they have been twisted in uniform.

“With a light and cool touch, Kijoka Basho-fu is like a medicine to wear and can be worn with confidence.” says Mieko Taira. Toshiko Taira from Kijoka was the reason behind the revival of the art of basho-fu in post-war Japan. During the war, she had travelled to Kurashiki as a member of the volunteer corps, where she visited the Ohara spinning mill. Here she had the opportunity to meet Kichinosuke Tonomura, who was deeply involved in the folk arts movement, and learn textiles. This experience encouraged her to protect and nurture the growth of Okinawa’s textile industry, and she returned to Okinawa with this wish.

basho-fu-obi

An obi made of basho-fu with a flower pattern. This classic pattern feels contemporary with its simple design.

Unfortunately the fields of banana plants, whose banana fibers are the raw materials for making basho-fu, were attracting mosquitoes and so had been cut down. Amidst these hardships, the women of Kijoka continued to work painstakingly hard so to continue the production of banana fibers and to not lose mastery of the skills necessary to create basho-fu, restoring the art of basho-fu. In 1974, the “Yoshika basho-fu Preservation Society” was designated as an Important Intangible Cultural Property, while Ms. Toshiko Taira also received recognition as a Living National Treasure. New possibilities for basho-fu have been pursued by using plant dye along with designs from the Ryukyu Dynasty and elements of dyed weave.

silken-threads

The finest thread, naturally beautiful.

“The hardest and most important job is the farming.” According to Mieko Taira, the wife of Toshiko’s eldest son and Toshiko’s successor.

banana-fields

For a well-maintained banana field of 750 tsubo, or just under 2500 m², it takes approximately 3 years for the banana fibers to grow.

3 or 4 times a year, the leaves are cut off to help soften the fibre and the trunk trimmed to ensure it grows at an equal thickness. The banana fibers of approximately 200 trees are needed to weave the cloth for one kimono made of basho-fu. In a field that covers 2500 tsubo (over 8,000 m²) maintenance jobs such as weeding and cutting the leaves and trunks are essential for producing high quality threads, and harvests take place throughout autumn and winter when the trees are ripe. The new buds that grow from the cuts on the side of the trunk are said to be precious, and it can take 2-3 years before fibers are ready to be taken.

banana-plants

Ripe banana plants are harvested throughout autumn and winter when the skin is peeled off before being bundled and cooked with charcoal. It is then scrubbed of impurities and turned into fine fibers which are made into thread using various processes such as twisting and scraping. Once it has been died using natural plant dye, it is weaved to make basho-fu. As the stalk of the banana plant multiplies, the fibers further in the middle create a softer and more delicate thread. Because of this, the thread has been grouped into four categories, starting from the outside with accessories, and moving inwards for belts, kimonos and dyeing.

national-treasure-toshiko-taira

Toshiko Taira continued to struggle hard after the war to continue the art of an unchanged fabric, remaining the same now as in the past. Although those who surpass the age of 90 do not generally weave the machines, they continue to provide guidance for the ladies working at the basho-fu Kaikan and prepare the threads. As Ms. Taira desired, the skills have been passed on to the next generation who continue to spin the beautiful story of basho-fu.

Basho-fu Kaikan

basho-fu-thread-2

The Basho-fu Kaikan was built to teach apprentices, but visitors can also observe the production process and purchase small items.

Address : 454 Kijoka, Ogimi-son, Kunigami, Okinawa
Phone : 0980-44-3033

Photography : Noboru Morikawa
Research / Author : Noriko Nii
Editors : Shiro Takagi, Yu Kimura, Tomoko Kotake, Shihoko Kubo
Last updated 2021/12/20

What is “INTOJAPAN”?
INTOJAPAN is a web magazine created by Shogakukan’s “Waraku Magazine” editorial department, which provides a gateway into Japanese culture and delivers the charms of real Japan.

?>